If You Like Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse Series and/or the TV Show True Blood…

Charlaine Harris has captured the American imagination with her deadly supernatural novels featuring telepathic, Louisiana waitress, Sookie Stackhouse. In a world where vampires have come out of the closet and live among humans, Sookie and her supernatural friends try to keep the peace between the human and supernatural worlds, while finding romance along the way. With ten best-selling books and a hit T.V. show, True Blood, Sookie seems to everywhere these days.

Maybe you like the Sookie stories for the vampires, but  people love the show and the books for other reasons as well. Use the categories listed  to help you find other books you may also enjoy.

If You Like the Vampires try…

Salem's Lot by Stephen KingKing, Stephen.  Salem’s Lot Call# KIN

Stephen King imagines what would happen if vampires with evil intentions came to live in small town Maine.

Penzler, Otto, ed.  The Vampire Archives Call# VAM

Otto Penzler has gathered the largest collection of vampire stories ever published. Read one or read them all.

Rice, Anne.  Interview With the Vampire Call# RIC

Anne Rice changed the vampire novel forever with this novel –  the first vampire novel where vampires went from threatening villains to the romantic lead.

Sands, Lynsay.  The Argeneau Series Call# SAN

Lynsay Sands writes light-hearted vampire romances that spoof the vampire genre. They are sensual, fun and fast paced.

Stoker, Bram.  Dracula Call# STO

In 1897 Bram Stoker wrote the vampire novel that all others since have been compared to. Written in  journal entry and letter format, Dracula is still an interesting and suspenseful read over 100 years later.

Yarbro, Chelsea Quinn.  Saint-Germain Chronicles Call# YAR

Chelsea Quinn Yarbro’s series follows one vampire through many different historical time periods. Each novel has suspense and romance and the series can be read in any order.

If You Like a Wide Range of Supernatural Creatures Try…

Bitten by Kelley ArmstrongArmstrong, Kelley.  Women of the Otherworld Series  Call#  ARM

With this series, Kelley Armstrong has used her novels to explore love, friendship and mystery among groups of supernatural creatures, from werewolves to witches and everything in between.

Bretton, Barbara.  Chloe Hobbs Series   Call# BRE

Barbara Bretton’s series beginning with Casting Spells is part crafting cozy and part supernatural romance with a touch of mystery, set in idyllic Sugar Maple, Vermont, a town that serves as a safe haven for supernatural creatures of all kinds.

Butcher, Jim.  Dresden Files Series  Call# FSY BUT

Jim Butcher’s popular fantasy series follows Harry Dresden, a Chicago wizard who runs a paranormal investigations firm. Harry is a likable loser who has to root out the evilest of villains.

Laurie, Victoria.  Psychic Eye Series and Ghost Hunter Series  Call# M LAU

With both her mystery series, Victoria Laurie utilizes just about every supernatural creature and situation in these engaging novels which are light on the mystery and heavy on the fun.

If You Like the Steamy, Supernatural Romance Try…

Ghost Hunter by Jayne CastleCastle, Jayne.  Ghost Hunters Series  Call# CAS

Under the pseudonym Jayne Castle, Jayne Ann Krentz has written dozens of supernatural romances set on the planet Harmony.

Feehan, Christine.   Call# FEE

Christine Feehan has written many passionate and entertaining paranormal romances featuring just about any supernatural character you can think of.

Kenyon, Sherrilyn.   Call# KEN

Sherrilynn Kenyon is the reigning queen of the supernatural romance. Pick up any of her books and enter a world of steamy romance between all kinds of creatures.

Liu, Marjorie.  Call#  LIU

Marjorie Liu writes sensual paranormal romances set in exotic locales filled with intrigue, mystery, and love.

MacAlister, Katie.  The Dark Ones Series  Call# MAC

Katie MacAlister’s series follows Joy who, armed with a magical bag of stones, is thrust into a supernatural world of immortal beings and falls in love with a stranger with a dark secret.

Ward, J.R.  Black Dagger Brotherhood Series  Call#  WAR

In this series, J.R. Ward’s six vampire warriors are in a battle to protect their race while finding love and passion along the way.

If You Like the Dark Humor With a Supernatural Twist Try….

World War Z by Max BrooksBrooks, Max.  World War Z Call# BRO

In World War Z, Max Brooks has the survivors of a decades long zombie war recount what happened. This is political satire at its undead best.

Graham-Green, Sean .  Abraham Lincoln:  Vampire Killer Call# GRA

Sean Graham Green became famous by adding zombies to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and he has continued the horrific fun by imagining Abraham Lincoln as a Vampire Hunter.

Kenner, Julie.  Demon Hunting Soccer Mom Series  Call# KEN

Kate Connor put her demon hunting career on hold to start a family, but, as Julie Kenner’s series recounts, Kate is forced back into the business when a murderous demon interrupts her dinner party.

Moore, Christopher.  Call# MOO

Christopher Moore has made a successful career out of skewering the horror genre by writing deadly funny novels about vampires, the angel of death, and sea monsters, to name just a few.

If You Just Like It All, Try….

Happy Hour at Casa Dracula by Marta AcostaAcosta, Marta.  Milagro de los Santos Series  Call# ACO

Milagro de los Santos is hip, funny, smart, and …possibly becoming a vampire! With a little bit of romance and mystery, Acosta’s fun series is a must read for Sookie fans.

Chance, Karen.  Cassandra Palmer Series  Call# CHA

Karen Chance’s series follows Cassandra, a gifted clairvoyant who was raised by vampires. Over the series she inherits more powers and encounters a host of magical creatures on her travels and adventures.

Davidson, MaryJanice.  Betsy Taylor Series  Call# DAV

Betsy Taylor is a 30-something, former model, who wakes up as a vampire after being “killed” in a car crash.  But, she is no ordinary vampire; for instance, she can be out in the sunlight.  Could she be the prophesied Vampire Queen?

Frost, Jeaniene. Night Huntress Series  Call# FRO

Jeaniene Frost’s series  has vampires, mystery, romance and a tough heroine with a secret and a difficult choice; to live in the human world or the vampire world?

Hamilton, Laurell K. Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series  Call#  HAM

Laurell K. Hamilton’s best-selling series is edgy, sexy and violent. Anita investigates supernatural bad guys as she risks her life to keep the world safe. She manages to find herself in as many passionate situations as dangerous ones.

Harrison, Kim.  Rachel Morgan Series  Call# HAR

In this series, sexy witch and bounty hunter, Rachel Morgan protects the citizens of Cincinnati from a host of vampires and other evil supernatural creatures.

3 responses to “If You Like Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse Series and/or the TV Show True Blood…

  1. Pingback: Everyone Loves a Lover « Bay State Reader's Advisory: Reading Suggestions from a Massachusetts Librarian

  2. Pingback: Sookie Stackhouse Readalikes | Pinal County Reads

  3. I absolutely loved the Sookie Stackhouse series as well as the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, I highly recommend these two series to anyone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s