If You Like James Patterson…

Whatever the genre – police procedural, mystery, thriller – these titles are fast-paced and suspenseful, in other words, compulsively readable; just like James Patterson.

Authors

Connelly, Michael.  Call # M CON

Connelly’s main character, Harry Bosch, is a tough, case-hardened private eye working in L.A.  This series has the feel of realistic police procedural and the graphic violence of the rough city streets.

Crais, Robert.  Call # M CRA

In Crais’ series, Elvis Cole is a wise-cracking private-eye with a heart of gold and a grim, tough as nails partner, Joe Pike. The Cole series is a blend of suspense, police procedures and vivid violence.

Gerritsen, Tess.  Call # GER

Gerritsen’s strong female protagonists, Boston police detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Dr. Maura Isles, work together and often find themselves in dangerous situations. These page-turners are dark in tone, violent and suspenseful.

Iles, Greg.  Call # ILE

Iles’ stories are intricate, hard-hitting suspense with plot twists and explicit violence. They usually take place in contemporary settings, although he has written a few that are set in World War II.

Parker, T. Jefferson.  Call # PAR

These are complex and well-paced thrillers in which the plot usually involves a character who is coping with some type of loss. Jefferson’s novels are known for their psychological perception, empathy and violent scenes.

Patterson, Richard North.  Call # PAT

Whether they involve the courtroom or the world of politics, Patterson’s thrillers are filled with fascinating legal drama, unexpected twists, and anxious suspense; often they are based on real-life issues.

Sandford, John.  Call # SAN

The Prey series are fast-paced, crime driven suspense stories involving Minneapolis police Lt. Lucas Davenport. Sanford is known for his intricate plots, multi-faceted characters and unexpected twists.

Vachss, Andrew.  Call # VAC

Vachss’s urban suspense stories take place in New York, have quirky characters and star Burke, a private eye with a deep interest in the safety and protection of women and children, who are always at risk in these novels.

Titles

Final Victim by Stephen J. CannellCannell, Stephen J.  Final Victim

Customs agent John Lockwood teams up with psychologist and criminal profiler Karen Dawson, and street-wise computer hacker Malavida Chacone to catch Leonard Land, a seven feet tall, hairless computer genius. Land has been methodically murdering women and sawing off parts of their bodies. When Land realizes that Lockwood and his team have infiltrated his computer programs, they become his next prospective victims.

Tell No One by Harlan CobenCoben, Harlan.  Tell No One

Dr. David Beck was knocked unconscious and his wife was kidnapped and murdered by a serial killer on their anniversary. Eight years later, also on their anniversary, David receives a mysterious email containing information that only Elizabeth would know and a hyperlink to a live street camera. There, he sees Elizabeth walk by, look up into the camera and mouth the words “I’m sorry”. Is she dead or still alive?

Postmortem by Patricia CornwellCornwell, Patricia.  Postmortem

Chief medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta is trying to determine the identity of a serial killer who has attacked, raped, and strangled four young women in Richmond. The women have nothing in common, except that they were murdered in the same manner . Scarpetta is discovering some intriguing evidence in the case through the use of forensic research, but finds her professionalism questioned and her life threatened.

Devil's Teardrop by Jeffery DeaverDeaver, Jeffrey.  The Devil’s Teardrop

On New Year’s Eve 1999, a gunman uses a machine gun to massacre dozens of innocent people at a subway station in Washington, D.C.  He demands a ransom of $20 million to be delivered to his accomplice, or he will continue his assault on the city at four-hour intervals. When the accomplice is killed in an accident, retired FBI agent Parker Kincaid is called in to find the killer with only one piece of evidence, the ransom note.

Big Picture by Douglas KennedyKennedy, Douglas.  The Big Picture

Ben Bradford, who once dreamed of becoming a photographer, now lives in a wealthy suburb in Connecticut with his wife Beth and his two kids, works for a Wall Street law firm, and is completely dissatisfied with his life. When he discovers that Beth is having an affair with a neighbor, Ben confronts the man and kills him in a deadly rage. After cleaning up his crime, he flees to a small town in Montana with a new identity.

Sleeping Beauty by Phillip MargolinMargolin, Phillip.  Sleeping Beauty

An intruder assaults teenager Ashley Spencer and murders her father and her best friend in her home. When the killer stops for a snack in the kitchen, Ashley is given an unanticipated chance to escape. Looking for a fresh start, Ashley’s mother enrolls her in a new private boarding school where she receives a soccer scholarship. It doesn’t take long before Ashley realizes that the killer has followed her there.

Middle of Nowhere by Ridley PearsonPearson, Ridley.  Middle of Nowhere

With 90% of the Seattle Police Force calling in sick with “Blue Flu”, Detective Lou Boldt, police psychologist Daphne Matthews and Sergeant John LaMoia are faced with solving a string of robberies and the brutal attempted murder of a female police officer. Boldt’s life is threatened when he refuses to drop the investigations and he begins to wonder if the robberies, the assaults, and the strike are somehow all connected.

L.A. Dead by Stuart WoodsWoods, Stuart.  L.A. Dead

Stone Barrington, ex-cop turned lawyer/investigator, is in Venice for his wedding to Dolce Bianchi, daughter of a retired Mafia leader. Before the wedding, Stone receives a call from his old love, Arrington Calder, who is accused of shooting and killing her husband, movie star Vance Calder. Stone returns to L.A. to investigate the crime and defend Arrington, but he also has to watch out for Dolce, who shows up in L.A. and is not happy about being left at altar.

8 responses to “If You Like James Patterson…

  1. I’d recommend JC Gardner’s Sinful Liaisons as well. It’s a great mix of suspense, action and romance- and keeps you on your toes! There’s a synopsis at http://booksbyjcg.com.

  2. As an avid reader, I am constantly looking for new books and authors, and I just found a wonderful new author, David Christopher, whose book No Presumption of Innocence, was recommended to me by a friend. I like to preview book before I buy them, and luckily this book has a “look inside” feature, which allows you to read the first five chapters. From their I was hooked and ordered it for my kindle, and finished it soon after. It is a murder suspense story, and the author does a great job leading you through the plot, and it is very easy reading. I hope he comes out with another book soon. Until then, I am also looking for other new authors as well.

  3. Clive Cussler’s “Dirk Pitt” series are very good. Fast paced, action from front to back.

  4. I recommend M. A. Comley’s Justice Series. From Book 1 through Book 5 you’re going to love DI Lorne Simpkins. She reminds me of a female Alex Cross.

  5. I liked the few of James Patterson books BUT don’t care for the freaky-deaky, way-out-there sexual content (torture details) of the villain in the last one. I am turned off by that “Criminal Minds” kind of junk. Is there another author anyone knows of that practices a little more restraint but with a similar suspense theory? I’m a Deputy Sheriff & not a prude, but I will just abandon books where victim torture is detailed.

    • Hi Celina! We have a few suggestions of authors you might like that don’t have as many violent details. Mary Higgins Clark, Stuart Woods and Stephen White all write suspenseful, mystery series that generally do not have as much violence. Happy reading!

  6. chris carter is even better than james, i also like tess gertzen and lynda la plante

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s